Training Day (World of ¡Vamos!) (Hardcover)

Training Day (World of ¡Vamos!) Cover Image
$9.99
Usually Ships in 1-5 Days

Description


Readers will fall in love with Raúl the Third’s unique visual style as Kooky Dooky helps luchador El Toro train for his next wrestling match! Perfect for readers of Elephant and Piggie, comic book fans, and kids looking to practice both Spanish and English.

Little Lobo introduced readers to his wrestling hero El Toro in Vamos! Let’s go to the Market!. Now El Toro is off on his own adventures in this early reader series!

Task #1: Getting out of bed.

Usually that’s not so hard, but being the champion luchador isn’t easy. Today, El Toro is feeling uninspired. But his coach, Kooky Dooky, knows that practice makes better and it’s important for El Toro to stay in shape and keep training!

These eye-popping illustrations will appeal to comic book fans and encourage visual literacy, with an easy-to-follow mix of Spanish and English vocabulary words.

Readers will cheer as El Toro’s spirits are lifted with a little help from his community and he trains hard to win his next big wrestling match against The Wall!

About the Author


Raúl the Third is the Pura Belpré Award-winning author-illustrator of ¡Vamos! Let's Go Eat¡Vamos! Let’s Go to the Market, and the rest of the World of ¡Vamos! series. He is also the Pura Belpré Award-winning illustrator of Lowriders to the Center of the Earth, written by Cathy Camper. Raúl was born in El Paso, Texas, and grew up going back and forth between El Paso and Ciudad Juárez, México. He now lives in Boston, Massachusetts, with his collaborator and fellow artist, Elaine Bay, and their son, Raúl the Fourth.
raulthethird.com
Twitter: @raulthe3rd
Instagram: @raulthethird.info

Praise For…


★ "In typical ¡Vamos! style, a vibrant world bursts to life on every page, filled with movement and a detailed host of cartoon characters, though text and images are simplified to accommodate beginning readers. Raúl offers a lesson in visual literacy, utilizing speech bubbles and panels in addition to traditional narration." —Booklist, STARRED review

★ "A generous touch of giddy surrealism continues to make Raúl the Third’s faunal milieu a destination, lovingly detailed in frenetic compositions and Bay’s SweeTart-hued digital colorization. Exercise and toilet cleaning are rarely this much fun." —The Bulletin of the Center for Children's Books, STARRED review

★ "Simple sentences and recognizable—yet entirely fresh and original—plot structures set up young readers for accomplishment. Visual and linguistic whirls and twirls match the fast-paced tempo of lucha libre, serving up dazzling Chicano English....This pizzazz echoes throughout the chillante palette of matte violet, teal, and orange hues, animating the dynamic motion lines in comic-book-style drawings, rewarding attentive eyes and ears with endless detail and inside jokes."—The Horn Book, STARRED review

"As in the World of ¡Vamos! books, the creator, alongside colorist Elaine Bay, utilizes comics-style layouts and an eye-catching, lightly faded color palette.... lively banter and humorous illustrations make for an absorbing early reader." —Publishers Weekly

"The unstoppable Raúl the Third brings his border barrio to rip-roaring life with plenty of humor, embedded Spanish, and Chicano cultural references.... Comic-book and lucha libre fans alike will not tap out of this semibilingual smackdown."—Kirkus
Product Details
ISBN: 9780358380382
ISBN-10: 0358380383
Publisher: Versify
Publication Date: May 4th, 2021
Pages: 56
Language: English
Series: World of ¡Vamos!