Shine (Hardcover)

Shine By Bruno Valasse Cover Image
$17.99
Usually Ships in 1-5 Days

Description


A lyrical and dramatic picture book about a moth who is afraid of the dark and embraces his authentic self. For fans of Little Tree and It Fell From the Sky.

A little moth hides from the dark, and doesn't want to leave his bright and cozy home. But here's a secret: he loves watching the stars. They only come out at night, though . . . when it's dark outside.

One night, the stars give the moth the courage to go outside into the night. There, he makes friends with other creatures who are also afraid of the dark, and they play and sparkle under the stars. But will a dangerous encounter with a group of hungry frogs drive the moth back inside? Or will it encourage him to create his own light in the darkness?

Inspired by the author's own childhood memories of being afraid of the dark but drawn to the beauty of the night sky, Shine is a gorgeous debut picture book which will encourage readers to be their authentic selves . . . and glow!

About the Author


Born and currently living in Mexico City, BRUNO VALASSE moved to the UK and went on to study at the Cambridge School of Art, graduating from the Children's Book Illustration M.A. program in 2022. Shine is Bruno's debut author-illustrated children's picture book.

Praise For…


"Valasse’s textured natural world, filled with lush foliage in teal, rust, and mustard renderings, has a classic feel, while the spare story veers quietly through the moonlight . . . Truly shines.” —STARRED REVIEW, Kirkus Reviews

"This encouraging story about conquering fear is likely to be a balm to little ones feeling nervous about the night." Booklist

"This attractively illustrated picture book about bravery is a secondary purchase for most collections." School Library Journal
Product Details
ISBN: 9781774884287
ISBN-10: 1774884283
Publisher: Tundra Books
Publication Date: April 30th, 2024
Pages: 32
Language: English