The Survivalists (Compact Disc)

The Survivalists By Kashana Cauley, Bahni Turpin (Read by) Cover Image
$35.99
Email or call for price.

January 2023 Indie Next List


The Survivalists tackles our divisive sociopolitical climate with dark humor, irony, absurdity, and understanding. A fun, thought-provoking, and revelatory novel about Doomsday prepping and our capacity for love and acceptance.”
— Alyssa Raymond, Copper Dog Books, Beverly, MA

Description


Shondaland's Best Books

Vulture's Most Anticipated

A Phenomenal Book Club pick

One of Vogue's Best--and Most Anticipated--Books of 2023

" A] lethally witty debut" --Laura Warrell, The New York Times Book Review

"A great and engrossing read, Kashana humanizes a way of life that is often made fun of and makes the reader understand why someone would go to such great lengths to prepare for the future, so much so she almost sold me on those Life Preserver soy bars " --Trevor Noah

A single Black lawyer puts her career and personal moral code at risk when she moves in with her coffee entrepreneur boyfriend and his doomsday-prepping roommates in a novel that's packed with tension, curiosity, humor, and wit from a writer with serious comedy credentials.

In the wake of her parents' death, Aretha, a habitually single Black lawyer, has had only one obsession in life--success--until she falls for Aaron, a coffee entrepreneur. Moving into his Brooklyn brownstone to live along with his Hurricane Sandy-traumatized, illegal-gun-stockpiling, optimized-soy-protein-eating, bunker-building roommates, Aretha finds that her dreams of making partner are slipping away, replaced by an underground world, one of selling guns and training for a doomsday that's maybe just around the corner.

For readers of Victor LaValle's The Changeling, Paul Beatty's The Sellout, and Zakiya Harris's The Other Black Girl, The Survivalists is a darkly humorous novel from a smart and relevant literary voice that's packed with tension, curiosity and wit, and unafraid to ask the questions most relevant to this generation of Americans: Does it make sense to climb the corporate ladder? What exactly are the politics of gun ownership? And in a world where it's nearly impossible for young people to earn enough money to afford stable housing, what does it take in order to survive?

Product Details
ISBN: 9781978699625
ISBN-10: 197869962X
Publisher: Brilliance Audio
Publication Date: January 10th, 2023
Language: English